Review: Dune, Frank Herbert

3,5 out ofstars

Read from 2 June to 23 June

 

Note: The Dune book i read was divided into two volumes, but this review is not about the first or the second volume, but the book as a whole.

 

Duna

 

In this sci-fi classic, we quickly see ourselves in an unknown and desertic world: Arrakis, also known as Dune. There, the water is scarce and the heat is overwhelming. The mysterious spice which holds big economic importance (and dependency) to the Empire, comes from there.

 

From the beggining we get to know a lot of complex characters with rich and diferent backgrounds: from Bene Gesserit witches to the human thinking machines known as mentats, Dukes, Barons, and many others; but this story revolves around Paul, Duke Leto Atreides and Bene Gesserit Jessica’s son. We fall right into the political intrigue about the dominance of Arrakis and its spice.

 

I liked the unique setting of Arrakis with its hard weather (although I found it a bit difficult to imagine the landscaping and what was going on there) as well as the unique characters. I felt really curious about most of them, I wanted to know how they got there and what they intended to do. I confess it took me quite some time to get into the story and a bit more to relate with the characters (i didnt always understand Paul nor his mother, Jessica). The last 150 pages of the second part where, without doubt, the ones that grab my attention and within two days I finished the book.

 

Other comments/Reflections

 

Arrakis made me think about our use of water in the daily life, because we all know we end up always wasting more water than we should and we must be more careful about it and use it with caution. In a desertic planet where which drop of sweat can’t be wasted in vain, it’s easy to see how the water becomes the wealth which holds such importance in the lives of the inhabitants. I loved how this matter became an important part of the story, it turned out to be much more than just a moral concern and a question of survival: it was the story’s story, it grew deep down on the costumes, changed mentalities and became a mean to an end. The fremen’s brutality is understandable, “normal” even. The religion has also an important role on Dune: it was faith that kept them doing something that was bigger than them and when religion is cultivated with care… Well, its implications reach a bigger scale.

 

Most people recomends this book as a stand alone but… to be honest, it doesn’t work for me, I think it’s clearly missing something, however I don’t know if I’m going to read them all or even the next one. I’m sad I didn’t enjoy it as much as I though I would, maybe I was expecting something different, but it really is recommended! It has an intriguing plot and a different setting, it is of a spetacular geniality!

 

Deixe uma Resposta

