Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children, Ransom Riggs

3,25 ofstars

Read from 8 August to 24 August

 

14182436_1276132952405182_1919591076_n

 

This is the first book of the trilogy Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, being fantasy>paranormal and Young Adult.

 

Strange happenings lead to a family tragedy that has a strong impact on Jacob, the lead character, and make him leave on a trip with his father to a remote island in Wales to discover more about his grandfather’s past. There starts a new and dangerous adventure to discover more about himself and his grandfather’s mysterious life, mainly during his adolescence.

The story is set mainly on a island in Wales, where the weather is not nice to its inhabitants (and even less to the visitors), but it definetly helps to create na atmosphere of mystery and gives a little creepy touch to the events.

 

I have to admit that when I started the book I found it a little creepy and for a moment I questioned if the story would only follow that like, but in truth it wasn’t all like that. There is always a sense of dangerous mystery that accompanies the happenings, but it’s nothing that terrifying or something like that (unless you’re sensitive to it, because there are always a touch of it here and there). There is a moment that has a small touch of psycological thriller that I also liked a lot, aswell, definitely, as the dangerous mystery atmosphere that there is from the beginning to the end. (I have to say that there is a small touch of a somewhat diferent than the usual kind of time travel too, which scored more points with me because… time travel, am I right?)

 

However, I don’t want to say much about the plot because I think the story is much more interesting if you go without knowing much, exactly because of the mystery and danger atmosphere.

 

About the characters… I really liked the strong connection between Jacob and his grandfather and, although the relationship with his parents isn’t as strong as that one, I think that the importance he gave to a decision that would afect them both was really important, there was a lot of indecision about the consequences of his actions and i liked it. Through the book are several old pictures which help to tell the narrative, with fantastic stories that go about them and add one more fantastical touch to the story and there also is a big variety of (peculiar) characters, which were the aspects that I liked the most!

 

However, I confess that, although the characters and the story were very interesting, I was not able to be 100% invested in the book… Sometimes I became uninterested about what was going on with the characters, but then there was one plot point or another that got my attention again. There was also a (love) relationship that because of reasons I found a bit weird, altough I could understand the perspectives of both characters on the matter, but i found it funny how this perspetive of mine was also referred.

 

To me, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was a good peculiar story because of the fantastical and dangerous mystery elements. So, I recommend it to whoever wants to read a book with these elements! Being the first book in a trilogy, I am curious enough to read the next ones!

 

Deixe uma Resposta

