Wrap-Up: January (2017)

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

I wanted to try doing a wrap-up for quite some time, but it was only more recently that I started to read more each month (a year ago I would probably only read a book a month). Sooo I think I’m ready to try this out now!

I’m very happy with myself for starting this new year with an accomplishment of 3 books read and 1 other book started!

 

dscn3348-2I read The Pale Dreamer by Samantha Shannon right away in the first day of the month because it was a novella and only had about 70 pages. I really liked it! I read The Bone Season in November 2016 and really enjoyed it. The Pale Dreamer allowed me to go back to that world before I was able to get The Mime Order (which arrived yesterday 😁). I was very curious and wanted to know more about how Page started her life in the clairvoyant underworld and this prequel gave me what I was looking for, I only wish it was longer… (4 out of 5 stars)

 

dscn3334Next I finished read The Amber Project by J. N. Chaney and you can find my review here. I definitely liked the second part way more than the first one, but I understand we (kinda) needed the world building that was done in that part. But the second part of the book was exactly what I was looking for! Very sci-fi-ish and post-apocalyptic!! I really liked how ponderate our main character was and the friendship he and his friends shared. Although I guessed some things I really enjoyed it and would have bought the second e-book (I initially thought it was a trilogy but it seems it’s going to have more books) right away if it wasn’t only available on Kindle (because I have a Kobo). (4 out of 5 stars)

 

dscn3309I also read a portuguese classic named O Mandarim by Eça de Queirós. It was a nice story about a man who is offered a lot of money if he rings a bell that kills the previous owner of the money (not in a bloody way though, he would just… die). And I mean “nice” because it is also a story with a moral to learn: be careful with what you wish for, your conscience may never leave it alone! (3 out of 5 stars)

 

And lastly, I started Nevernight by Jay Kristoff but didn’t have the time to finish it.

I know, I have to admit that I kinda cheated because 2 of the 3 books I read were really short (O Mandarim has about 150 pages) and the other one I had started last year (but I still had about 250 pages to read), buuuut it was also THE month of my college exams so I think it’s quite fair 😂

I hope you guys have a good reading month! What was your favourite read? 😊

Deixe uma Resposta

