(The Late Late) Wrap-Up: February (2017)

 

Hi! Here it is The Late Late February Wrap-Up! February ended up being a surprising good reading month! I finish reading the book I started in January and read 3 more books. (I hope the rest of the year will be like this 😂)

 

DSCN3279I started Nevernight by Jay Kristoff in January but I didn’t have time to finish it. Although I found the plot quite interesting there were things I disliked about it, specially the fact that it is a problematic book. You can read my (short) review here, where I link up a very important post that talks about its problems. But, once again I have to say it: this cover is stuning!! (2 out of 5 stars)

 

 

 

DSCN3469I’m an anthropology student at college and I’ve been recomended to read Raça e História (the original is in french but it translates to english directly as Race and History) by Claude Lévi-Strauss, by a last semester professor, so I finally picked it up! It’s a really short book (about 100 pages with big font) and although I was expecting something a little more mind-blowing, I liked it. (3 out of 5 stars)

 

 

DSCN3514

I have had The Gunslinger by Stephen King on my shelves for about 2 or 3 years, but 2017 will be the year I will read it, aswell as the second book in the Dark Tower series. Buuut…… It’s a strange fantasy book. It’s a western fantasy and although I haven’t yet watched Westworld I know it’s amazing and mind-blowing and because of it I was really into reading a western fantasy by Stephen King! I kind of DNFed it at page 60, but I’m going back to it during March and, hopefully, finish reading and liking it.

 

DSCN3455

To All The Boys I Loved Before by Jenny Han was the cute, light and fun read I was looking for after putting The Gunslinger aside! Sometimes it was painfully funny (in the sense that it was indeed funny but I would die if something like that happened to me) and sometimes I didn’t agree with her (lack) of reactions, but overall I liked it and I really want to read the next books!! (3,5 out of 5 stars)

 

 

DSCN3451I read amazing reviews about The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin and that was what made me pick it up instead of Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan. And, oh boy, I’m so happy I ended up choosing this instead! It’s such an increadible story about what happens… well, when life happens. And I won’t kid anyone: the fact that it was about a guy that owned a bookstore on a small island AND LIVED ABOVE IT played a great part in how much I liked the book. And the ending… It hit hard. It really is a beautiful story. (4 out of 5 stars)

 

Note to my future self: Remember to post the wrap-ups sooner 😌

I feel like I’m running against time to request books from my university’s library and that’s why some of the books featured in this wrap-up have a white tag. This library has so many books I want to read but that I’m not sure I’ll like them enough to spend money buying a physical copy or that I really want to read but can’t afford right now. Libraries speak to my soul 💖

Deixe uma Resposta

